Home   ·   People   ·   Visiting Scholars   ·   Future Visiting Scholars   ·   Content
  • Trevor Robbins
  • Period of stay:

Trevor has been Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience at the University of Cambridge from 1997. He was also Professor of Expt. Psychology and Head of the Dept. of Psychology from 2002-2017. He has been based in Cambridge for most of his scientific career, receiving hisPhDthere in 1975. He is a Fellow of the British Psychological Society (1990), the British Pharmacological Society (2017) the Academy of Medical Sciences (2000), and the Royal Society (2005), the most prestigious science society in the U.K. He has published over 800 full papers, with an H index of about 179. He has co-edited eight books, most recently Translational Neuropsychopharmacology (Springer, 2016)). He edits Psychopharmacology (since 1980) and Current Opinion in the Behavioral Sciences and is an editorial advisor for Science.

Trevor directs the ‘Behavioural and Clinical Neuroscience Institute’ (BCNI) (founded in 2005 with funding from the MRC and Wellcome Trust) the mission of which is to enhance translation from basic to clinical neuroscience with particular reference to impulsive-compulsive disorders including drug addiction. His interest in translation began with his co-invention in 1987 of the CANTAB computerized neuropsychological battery, which is currently used in over 700 institutes and clinicalcentresworld-wide.

Among several prizes, he received the Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award for 2011 from the American Psychological Association. He was made a CBE in the New Year’s Honours list of the U.K. in 2012 "for services to medical research". In 2014 he shared the ‘Brain Prize’ of the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation, the most valuable in neuroscience, for his work on human mental disorders. In 2015 he received the “Lifetime Achievement Award” of the British Association for Psychopharmacology’. In 2016, he received the Robert Sommer Award for research into schizophrenia. In 2017 received the Gold Medal of the Society for Biological Psychiatry (USA) for work on cortico-striatal systems and their modulation, and, most recently, the Patricia Goldman-Rakic Award for outstanding research in Cognitive Neuroscience.